The Cell Cycle

According to the Cell Theory all living things are made up of cells and all organisms develop from one single cell.

 A cell spends most of its time growing and carrying out metabolic processes.

This period of the cell’s life is called INTERPHASE.

Towards the end of its growth cycle, the cell begins to prepare for cell division.

The process of cell division itself is called MITOSIS.

At the end of mitosis the cell will have duplicated (replication) itself into two identical cells.

 During its life the cell undergoes three major stages:



  3. MITOSIS  

Mitosis is made up of four main stages:

  1. Prophase: Spindle fibres begin to form and attach themselves to chromosomes

  2. Metaphase: Chromosomes attached to spindle fibres line up in the middle of cell (equator)

  3. Anaphase: Spindle fibres shorten and pull chromosomes apart towards the poles of the cell

  4. Telophase: Final Stage - Chromosomes have reached the poles and the cell forms a furrow/cleavage which eventually splits the ell up into two identical daughter cells


    Identify the stages of Mitotic Cell Division in the images below